How do you get rid “of” your property taxes?
Read on for answers.1.
Get rid of the property tax refund you get from the county.
You’ll get a refund from the County of San Bernardino if your property is assessed in the county as a single-family home.
The county will then charge a 5 percent tax on the home’s value.
If you don’t have an address in the County, you’ll have to pay the property taxes from the nearest county, even if you don and aren’t a resident of the county or its adjacent counties.2.
Get a tax audit.
Tax attorneys typically review your income and assets, along with any other tax records, and will give you a tax assessment if you qualify.3.
File for bankruptcy.
Bankruptcy attorneys will review your bankruptcy, offer a bankruptcy restructuring plan, and give you advice on how to resolve your debts and assets.4.
Sue your former employer.
If your former company has filed for bankruptcy, it may have no right to collect your property-tax refunds and your former employee could get the same tax refund as you.5.
Make an adjustment to your taxes.
If the county has changed the tax assessment you receive from the previous assessment, you can file a new assessment to get the tax refund.
If that doesn’t work, ask the county to change the assessment, or appeal the county’s decision.6.
Get an audit of your home.
You can get a tax appraisal from the California Assessor’s Office for your home if you’re registered as a renter or you’re a nonresident.
The appraisal will give a summary of the home.7.
Make a claim for a refund.
You may be able to get a claim to the county if the county gives you a refund that you haven’t received yet.
You should also contact the County Treasurer’s Office, which may help you file a claim.
If there’s an appeal, you should be able, under California law, to have your claim heard before a county court judge.8.
File an affidavit for a claim with the county treasurer.
The tax office will send you a written request for a tax refund and a copy of the affidavit.
The document must be filed within 90 days after the tax is assessed.9.
Appeal the county tax assessment.
If an appeal isn’t filed, you may be eligible for a credit of $25 for each dollar you paid in taxes.10.
Contact the County Assessor to see if you can get an adjustment.
The assessment can be adjusted after the assessment is mailed to you.11.
File a petition for review.
You’re free to file a petition to get an audit or refund if you disagree with the assessment.
The petition must include your name, address, and the date you filed the petition.
If it’s a petition seeking a refund, you must provide proof of the petition, such as a certified letter from your employer or a letter from the local board of supervisors.
You must also provide copies of any documents you filed with the assessor or the county, such an application for a temporary or permanent certificate of occupancy.
If a petition is filed, the county must review your petition within 30 days of filing.
You will then have 30 days to file another petition.
You also must include proof of income from the prior year, such a letter or bank statement from the accountant, or a copy the accountant’s letter.
The assessor must provide you with a copy, and you must make a copy.
If no petition is approved, the assessors office will mail you a receipt with a notice that the assessment has been paid.
The refund must be in the amount of $1,000.00.12.
Contact your local county assessor to ask them to review the assessment and file a statement.
The city or county assessors will do this by sending a letter to the assessee that includes the following information: the assessment you received from the assesser, the tax year in which the assessment was received, and whether the assessment should be changed, and what your claim is.
The letter must be sent within 30 calendar days after receiving the assessment from the city or the assessing district.13.
Contact any local tax office to ask for an audit.
If they’re not in the process of reviewing your claim, contact them to ask to see a copy or to file an affidavit to get you a copy and to file your claim with them.
If this isn’t possible, contact your state assessor, who can also send you copies of their audit.14.
File another claim.
You don’t need to file the affidavit, but if you do, it must include the information you provided in the affidavit and a claim form.
The claim form is a copy you must file and complete.
The IRS has an online complaint form that you can use to file and review your claim.15.
File the County’s tax return.
The County Treasurer will review the tax return for you, and